The open-source and community-supported gem5 simulator is one of the most popular tools for computer architecture research. This simulation infrastructure allows researchers to model modern computer hardware at the cycle level, and it has enough fidelity to boot unmodified Linux-based operating systems and run full applications for multiple architectures including x86, Arm®, and RISC-V. The gem5 simulator has been under active development over the last nine years since the original gem5 release. In this time, there have been over 7500 commits to the codebase from over 250 unique contributors which have improved the simulator by adding new features, fixing bugs, and increasing the code quality. In this paper, we give an overview of gem5’s usage and features, describe the current state of the gem5 simulator, and enumerate the major changes since the initial release of gem5. We also discuss how the gem5 simulator has transitioned to a formal governance model to enable continued improvement and community support for the next 20 years of computer architecture research.



July, 2020


  • Jason Lowe-Power
  • Abdul Mutaal Ahmad
  • Ayaz Akram
  • Mohammad Alian
  • Rico Amslinger
  • Matteo Andreozzi
  • Adrià Armejach
  • Nils Asmussen
  • Srikant Bharadwaj
  • Gabe Black
  • Gedare Bloom
  • Bobby R. Bruce
  • Daniel Rodrigues Carvalho
  • Jeronimo Castrillon
  • Lizhong Chen
  • Nicolas Derumigny
  • Stephan Diestelhorst
  • Wendy Elsasser
  • Marjan Fariborz
  • Amin Farmahini-Farahani
  • Pouya Fotouhi
  • Ryan Gambord
  • Jayneel Gandhi
  • Dibakar Gope
  • Thomas Grass
  • Bagus Hanindhito
  • Andreas Hansson
  • Swapnil Haria
  • Austin Harris
  • Timothy Hayes
  • Adrian Herrera
  • Matthew Horsnell
  • Syed Ali Raza Jafri
  • Radhika Jagtap
  • Hanhwi Jang
  • Reiley Jeyapaul
  • Timothy M. Jones
  • Matthias Jung
  • Subash Kannoth
  • Hamidreza Khaleghzadeh
  • Yuetsu Kodama
  • Tushar Krishna
  • Tommaso Marinelli
  • Christian Menard
  • Andrea Mondelli
  • Tiago Mück
  • Omar Naji
  • Krishnendra Nathella
  • Hoa Nguyen
  • Nikos Nikoleris
  • Lena E. Olson
  • Marc Orr
  • Binh Pham
  • Pablo Prieto
  • Trivikram Reddy
  • Alec Roelke
  • Mahyar Samani
  • Andreas Sandberg
  • Javier Setoain
  • Boris Shingarov
  • Matthew D. Sinclair
  • Tuan Ta
  • Rahul Thakur
  • Giacomo Travaglini
  • Michael Upton
  • Nilay Vaish
  • Ilias Vougioukas
  • Zhengrong Wang
  • Norbert Wehn
  • Christian Weis
  • David A. Wood
  • Hongil Yoon
  • Éder F. Zulian

Research Areas

  • Computer Architecture
  • Simulator